Eric Nathan has been commissioned to write a piano trio for the Neave Piano Trio


Eric Nathan


Anna Williams, violin, Eri Nakamura, piano, Mikhail Veselov, cello

Composer Eric Nathan has been commissioned to write a piano trio for the Neave Piano Trio. Eric’s music has been called “as diverse as it is arresting” by the San Francisco Chronicle, “thoughtful and inventive” by The New Yorker and “engaging, from a voice we will hear more of” by The New York Times.

Eric Nathan (b. 1983) was a 2013 Rome Prize Fellow and 2014 Guggenheim Fellow and is known internationally for his works. To learn more about him, visit his website at You can follow these links to listen to some of Nathan’s music.

“Omaggio a Gesualdo” for string quintet:
Video Excerpt:
Momenta Quartet with Samuel Rhodes

“Multitude, Solitude” for string quartet
Momenta String Quartet

“Why Old Places Matter” for oboe, horn, piano


“The Space of a Door” for orchestra
Performed by the Boston Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons, conductor
Audio link from the broadcast (starts at 5:00):

“Toying” for solo trumpet

“Three by Three” for solo piano

Hailed by critics for its “bright and radiant music making” (Robert Sherman, WQXR Radio), praised for its “heart-on-sleeve performance’ (Classical New Jersey), the Neave Trio has been described as “a revelation” (San Diego News), “a consummate ensemble” (Palm Beach Daily Reader), and “a brilliant trio” (Music Web International), who has “exceeded the gold standard and moved on to platinum” (Fanfare Magazine). The Boston Musical Intelligencer ranked the Neave Trio among the finest chamber ensembles of their generation. Trio members hail from the United States, Japan and Russia.

As one of the finest emerging young chamber ensembles, the Neave Trio has been enjoying tremendous international success on concert series and at festivals worldwide.

To learn more about the Neave Piano Trio, visit their website at

Contributions to this project are greatly appreciated.

Click here to contribute.